Northwell Health Top Stories Zucker School of Medicine

Zucker School of Medicine earns continued full accreditation

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

HEMPSTEAD, NY—Following a rigorous evaluation process, the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell has achieved the full eight-year accreditation term from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), the national accrediting body for all U.S. and Canadian medical schools leading to the MD degree.

“The continued full accreditation is the result of the tenacity and hard work of our entire medical school community,” said Lawrence G. Smith, MD, MACP, founding dean of the Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell. “It reflects the excellence of our faculty, staff, and student body, and affirms the high quality of our curriculum.” 

Review of the medical school for continued full accreditation included a 3-day LCME survey visit in October 2019 and review of documentation carefully detailing the ability of the school to meet standards set by the LCME. Meeting these requirements entailed continuous quality improvement efforts and self-study throughout more than two years leading up to the LCME survey visit by many individuals at the Zucker School of Medicine. Intense preparation consisted of critical examination of institutional policies, processes, and programs to ensure that the school is preparing future doctors to meet and exceed the demands of not only the LCME but also an evolving health care environment. 

“Achieving continued full accreditation is not the end to the process but an opportunity to expand upon the firm foundation we have forged as a close-knit community of educators, professionals, and adult learners at the Zucker School of Medicine,” said Dr. Smith. “We remain committed to a holistic approach to medical education that focuses on treating people rather than illnesses.”

Established in 2008, the Zucker School of Medicine was founded by two equal partners: Hofstra University and Northwell Health. It is built upon the strong clinical and graduate medical education programs of Northwell, as well as the robust research and academic programs of both Hofstra and Northwell’s Feinstein Institutes for Medical Research. Currently, the medical school comprises more than 3,000 faculty members across 25 academic departments and enrolls a diverse community of over 400 students.

About the author

Adrienne Stoller

Adrienne Stoller is communications manager at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell. For more information about news items or media inquiries, please send a message to or call 516-463-7585.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Upcoming Events


February 2020